First, a malicious advertisement has been discovered at ADECN again, the URL being:
- cds.adecn.com/resource/ads/875_9159_1202999742.swf
As you will see, visually the advertisement is identical to the malicious advertisement that appeared on diepresse and washingtonpost.com
From acedn we are redirected to station-appraisals.com/crossdomain.xml, and to:
station-appraisals.com/c/index.php?id=WjM0VnExOHBjeDMza0dEUDdnUGRoPTEyMDI4MjE3MjYmcG56Y252dGE9dnFyYWd2c2xmYgYNkiDgNmYNkiDgNm
We then hit blessedads.com/?cmpid=identifyso, and prevedmarketing.com/?tmn=mwatmp&aid=identifyso&lid=&ax=1&ed=2&mt_info=5586_5581_2358, before we finally hit:
scanner2.malware-scan.com/9_swp/?tmn=null&aid=identifyso_ma9s_mb1t&lid=&affid=&ax=1&ed=2&mt_info=5586_5581_2358:3958
Now let's have a look at another recently reported malicious SWF - the speedbit one that I reported on earlier. It has now been analysed and reveals some interesting information.
We have discovered two URLs thanks to the Speedbit SWF:
staticglobalsources.net/c/index.php?id=m7NkiZnRhRDh6RVRudHpXm7NkiZHJsm7NkiZFUwVEloPTEyMDQwNDcyMzImcG56Y252dGE9bmV0aHpyYWdim7NkiZQYNkiDgNmYNkiDgNm and waytotheprofit.com/?cmpid=argumentor
Next, let's look at another malicious SWF - this one featuring Weightwatchers:
The above SWF, when analysed, reveals the URL adtds2.promoplexer.com/statsa.php?campaign=interveco. Promoplexer is a newer (as distinct to new) name that also bears a closer examination.
The above promoplexer URL redirects to the URL adsraise.com/mbuyers/statistics.html.
The adsraise.com domain is very interesting. It is hosted in the Ukraine, with WNET, a name that has appeared on my blog before as host of the now infamous cleanator and macsweeper - therefore, I'd be EXTREMELY suspicious of anything hosted by that network.
Oh, and we have a new name... promoplexer shares A records with maxconvert.com - a sneaky peak at that domain reveals lots of references to macsweeper - why are we not surprised?
As we know, there have also been several campaigns recently using the domain iexplorer-security.org, which is hosted by MCHOST in Russia and which has name servers supplied by estboxes.com (aka estdomains, hosted by Intercage)
I have long since recommended wholesale blocking of Intercage, Interhoster and Nevacon - obviously that advice still stands.