Problems with MS sp3 and AMD

This forum is for all tips, information and news for Windows 2000, NT and Windows XP

Moderators: Admin Team, Moderators

User avatar
Mindblower
Countermeasures Agent
Countermeasures Agent
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 8:33 am
Area Of Expertise: More tinkering in hardware than software
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: Alot more than I should
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Problems with MS sp3 and AMD

Postby Mindblower » Fri May 23, 2008 3:16 pm

I must be one of the lucky ones, since after installing sp3, everything was normal. Pushed my luck; installed it on a Compact; with no problems either, Mindblower! YHOO

not sure if this is the right forum for my 2 cents
A converted Windows 8 user (using third party programs to ease the transition)

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Re: Problems with MS sp3 and AMD

Postby TeMerc » Fri May 23, 2008 3:49 pm

Lucky you!! 1rokon

Keep us informed on what if any problems you encounter.

I've moved this over to the XP forum. I've got a thread there dealing with all things XP SP3, but this will serve as a good thread for others to post to, thanks for commenting!! chrz
Image

User avatar
Mindblower
Countermeasures Agent
Countermeasures Agent
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 8:33 am
Area Of Expertise: More tinkering in hardware than software
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: Alot more than I should
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: Problems with MS sp3 and AMD

Postby Mindblower » Sat May 24, 2008 2:41 am

Well it's been 10 days (AMD) and 3 days respectively, and so far everything is working fine. Will inform you if a problem presents occurs, Mindblower! [-]
A converted Windows 8 user (using third party programs to ease the transition)

User avatar
Mindblower
Countermeasures Agent
Countermeasures Agent
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 8:33 am
Area Of Expertise: More tinkering in hardware than software
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: Alot more than I should
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: Problems with MS sp3 and AMD

Postby Mindblower » Sat Jul 12, 2008 2:51 pm

This week I needed to reinstall Windows to remove a glitch on my main computer. Sadly my image files were of no use, and it was two days of installing everything from scratch. Lucky for me, I have the sp2 and sp3 fixes on disk, so it was a tad quicker. This was no way a problem with AMD and sp3, but I'm thinking of replacing the os on the other unit with something like Ubuntu or Xubuntu, Mindblower!
A converted Windows 8 user (using third party programs to ease the transition)

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Re: Problems with MS sp3 and AMD

Postby TeMerc » Sat Jul 12, 2008 10:28 pm

Sorry to hear you had to resort to reinstall.

Let us know how the alternatives work out for you.
Image


Return to “Windows 2000, XP\NT”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest