TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

This forum is for tips, information and general news regarding Windows Vista.

Moderators: Admin Team, Moderators

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby TeMerc » Sun Mar 25, 2007 10:52 pm

Well folks I finally got around to installing Windows Vista.

I partitioned off 40GIG for it on my primary box, still leaving me with load of space, about 60GIG, with XP taking up about 20GIG out of the 120GIG drive I have.

Install, update and activation was painless and I was up and running in less than 30 minutes. Not a single glitch.

I've begun to dig up some apps which I have on my XP drive to see which ones work on Vista.

I'll be rooting around all the links I have in this forum tweaking and adjusting all the next week or so.

If you have found anything you thing is interesting, related to Vista post it here.

Or relating to making your XP look like Vista, drop me a note in this thread
Image

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Postby TeMerc » Tue Mar 27, 2007 10:43 am

Well its only been a few days but I really like Vista. Not that I recommend everyone go out and buy it of course. Were it not for my MVP status I wouldn't spend the money because XP certainly does everything I need it to do.

And naturally, security isn't a concern for me, no matter what OS I run.

I found two apps which don't actually list XP as a system requirement, but they both seem to work:
After looking around for a spell checker that worked on Vista, I decided that if it worked on IE7 in XP, why wouldn't it work in Vista, so I installed it and it works just fine.

I did the same thing with SA. Installed it, did some searches and everything appears ok.

And I found a totally awesome 3D RSS feed reader called UniveRSS Vista 3D Reader.

Whoa!! What an amazing looking application. This is so kewl, I wanna switch everything to Vista just to use it!!

Now I need to read the help file and get my feeds imported from Great News, which is not compatible yet with Vista.

More to come as I play around with it some more.
Image

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Postby TeMerc » Tue Mar 27, 2007 11:14 am

I also forgot to mention that I installed WinPatrol PLUS, Gadwin Print Screen and MailWasher Pro.

Also MSN Live IM, and YaHoo! IM.

All installed with no problems.
Image

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Postby TeMerc » Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:12 pm

Found another way kewl app, Yet another Desktop Manager 3D
Last edited by TeMerc on Sat May 12, 2007 11:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
BillPStudios
Security Developer
Security Developer
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 2:32 pm
Contact:

Welcome to the Adventure

Postby BillPStudios » Thu Mar 29, 2007 1:02 pm

Welcome to the grand adventure.

One of the things I like best is what is essentially a command line. Click on the Start button and start typing. We've gone from a command line to graphical back to command line. 8)

Type in Snip, and the snipping tool will appear under Programs.
The Snipping tool is another one of my favorite new things in Vista although I have had a version on my Tablet PC.

Good Luck and Enjoy,
Bill

Rwraith
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 2:33 pm
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!!

Postby Rwraith » Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:08 pm

So TeMerc do you still like Vista and are you excited/ready for SP1 coming out in March?

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!!

Postby TeMerc » Fri Feb 22, 2008 7:16 pm

Rwraith wrote:So TeMerc do you still like Vista and are you excited/ready for SP1 coming out in March?
Well, I liked it, but not enough to continue using it as too many apps at the time, didn't work. Front Page, Epson printer and a few other items.

I know FP will never be compatible, so that's one reason right there that will keep me from using it, altho, I can get Expression Web and it works on Vista, I think.

And by now there may even be a driver for my Epson printer. I've actually been thinking of giving it another go, but the big problem I'll have is because I couldn't get FP to work as a FTW with my host(they could never get me the right settings, kept saying it should work, but it didn't) I'm using an old FTP client which I'd be surprised if it worked at all.

And I hate changing from things I know work, especially something like that.

I've had access to beta SP1 for some time, but seeing as I don't ever use Vista, have not run it.
Image

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby TeMerc » Mon Dec 15, 2008 11:57 am

I've decided to re-install Vista on the primary box with SP1 disk. [;]

I'm going to make a conerted effort to begin using it more in the future. I'm pretty sure most of the software I currently use runs Vista versions now. I'll then also be able to help a certain secruity developer with his Vista capabilities with all his apps. ;)

Which I'm more than happy to do. :mrgreen:

Hardware is no problem, everything seen now. t*u

I'll update as this comes along.
Image

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby TeMerc » Mon Dec 15, 2008 12:42 pm

Vista installed effortlesly and painlesly.

Getting ready to hit Windows Updates
Image

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby TeMerc » Mon Dec 15, 2008 1:08 pm

Ok, imported all favs, added the pix for screensaver and disabled UAC. I don't need it. ;)

Seems Vista isn't seeing any sound devices tho. <?>

I'll have to look into that after updates are completed.
Image

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby TeMerc » Mon Dec 15, 2008 3:39 pm

[quote="TeMerc"]Seems Vista isn't seeing any sound devices tho. <?>

I'll have to look into that after updates are completed.[/
quote] Sound is up and operating as it should be. Once Windows installs were done I had sound.

Configuring MailWasherPro is next along with Outlook. I tried opening Outlook from Vista drive, but no go. I'll have to poke around to see if I actually have to install it onto that drive or not.
Image

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3721
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 12:42 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby MysteryFCM » Mon Dec 15, 2008 4:10 pm

Nope, you don't ;)

Just;

1. Copy the Outlook data folder (%userprofile%\application data\Microsoft\Outlook) to the same path in Vista
2. Load Outlook

:)

Unfortunately there's no way to force it to use the copy from the other OS :(
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby TeMerc » Mon Dec 15, 2008 4:12 pm

MysteryFCM wrote:Nope, you don't ;)

Just;

1. Copy the Outlook data folder (%userprofile%\application data\Microsoft\Outlook) to the same path in Vista
2. Load Outlook

:)

Unfortunately there's no way to force it to use the copy from the other OS :(
I'll give that a go, thanks!! [-]
Image

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3721
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 12:42 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby MysteryFCM » Mon Dec 15, 2008 4:17 pm

Don't forget to copy this one too;

%userprofile%\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\Outlook
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby TeMerc » Tue Dec 16, 2008 1:20 pm

I'm not sure this is gonna work.

I'm denied access to the Application Data folder in Vista, in so far as viewing it. I can get to an AppData folder, then Local, the Application data again, but no access. There is an Microsoft folder there tho, which contains an Outlook folder. <?>

I copied the NK2 folder from the Outlook folder on XP drive but I don't see it as such. I've got sharing.xml.obi, archive.pst, extend.dat, Outlook.pst and outlooksharing.xml.obi.
Image

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3721
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 12:42 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby MysteryFCM » Tue Dec 16, 2008 1:59 pm

Right click the folder > properties > security > advanced > take ownership ;)
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby TeMerc » Tue Dec 16, 2008 3:13 pm

MysteryFCM wrote:Right click the folder > properties > security > advanced > take ownership ;)
I found that just a few minutes after posting this, was reading another thread and it linked to doing that.
Image

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby TeMerc » Tue Dec 16, 2008 4:34 pm

While looking at tweaks for the system I found a neat Vista menu tool which allowed me to have an almost exact replica of the Vista start buttons and more importantly, color and has some other neat features as well.

It's called simply, VistaStartMenu. It's made by the same guy who makes Tidy Start Menu which I've been using forever.

If you're as frustrated as I am with being stuck with the girlie blue windows color, this is the solution! t*u

I was pointed to it by the guys over at Vista64 forums
Image

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby TeMerc » Wed Dec 17, 2008 9:57 am

This Outlook thing is becoming a PIA. >)(
ScreenShot003.jpg
(42.26 KiB) Downloaded 6 times

Which owner do I set these to? <?>
ScreenShot002.jpg
(38.62 KiB) Downloaded 5 times


Btw, will this allow me to fully use Outlook and all its features on the Vista drive? No sense knocking myself out if it's not, I'll just install it and import all the contacts and such.
Image

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3721
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 12:42 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby MysteryFCM » Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:51 am

If the owner was previously set to "Administrators", then it should've worked just fine anyway :(
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby TeMerc » Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:58 am

MysteryFCM wrote:If the owner was previously set to "Administrators", then it should've worked just fine anyway :(
hedbngr

I'll just install it on that partition, no biggie.

I've gotten some other things to to work from that drive so I won't have to install those. Just little things. :mrgreen:
Image

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3721
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 12:42 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby MysteryFCM » Wed Dec 17, 2008 11:23 am

hehe :)
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby TeMerc » Wed Dec 17, 2008 8:18 pm

TeMerc wrote: hedbngr

I'll just install it on that partition, no biggie.

I've gotten some other things to to work from that drive so I won't have to install those. Just little things. :mrgreen:
Installed. ;)

Just need to export everything, contacts, addresses and folders.
Image

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby TeMerc » Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:23 am

TeMerc wrote:While looking at tweaks for the system I found a neat Vista menu tool which allowed me to have an almost exact replica of the Vista start buttons and more importantly, color and has some other neat features as well.

It's called simply, VistaStartMenu. It's made by the same guy who makes Tidy Start Menu which I've been using forever.

If you're as frustrated as I am with being stuck with the girlie blue windows color, this is the solution! t*u

I was pointed to it by the guys over at Vista64 forums
Hmmmmm hm?

Seems I can't pin anything to start menu all of a sudden. Also when I hit the start button, taskbar does not appear. I'll have to drop the dev a note or check his Google group.
Image

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby TeMerc » Thu Dec 18, 2008 10:36 am

TeMerc wrote: Hmmmmm hm?

Seems I can't pin anything to start menu all of a sudden. Also when I hit the start button, taskbar does not appear. I'll have to drop the dev a note or check his Google group.
Posted here
Image

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby TeMerc » Thu Dec 18, 2008 11:25 am

TeMerc wrote:
TeMerc wrote: hedbngr

I'll just install it on that partition, no biggie.

I've gotten some other things to to work from that drive so I won't have to install those. Just little things. :mrgreen:
Installed. ;)

Just need to export everything, contacts, addresses and folders.
This is odd, or maybe it isn't. ?>!

I popped onto the XP drive to export my contacts and such and when I opened Outlook, it checked the temerc domain mail account. Even tho I didn't add it to this Outlook on the XP Drive. Now, seeing that it picked up that, will it have picked up all my contacts and folders or does it just do that to check the accounts? I didn't even bother looking at any contact info while I was in Outlook on Vista drive. hm?
Image

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby TeMerc » Thu Dec 18, 2008 1:25 pm

TeMerc wrote:This is odd, or maybe it isn't. ?>!

I popped onto the XP drive to export my contacts and such and when I opened Outlook, it checked the temerc domain mail account. Even tho I didn't add it to this Outlook on the XP Drive. Now, seeing that it picked up that, will it have picked up all my contacts and folders or does it just do that to check the accounts? I didn't even bother looking at any contact info while I was in Outlook on Vista drive. hm?
Heh, no such luck....have to import\export from XP drive. >)(
Image

User avatar
Johnincal
Moderators
Moderators
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:53 am
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: About 3 hours a day
Location: Las Vegas, NV. USA

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby Johnincal » Thu Dec 18, 2008 5:53 pm

Maybe Steve should handle this... <<!

User avatar
TeMerc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15995
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:16 pm
Area Of Expertise: Security
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: What else is there in life?
Location: PHX, AZ
Contact:

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby TeMerc » Thu Dec 18, 2008 6:19 pm

Johnincal wrote:Maybe Steve should handle this... <<!
Nah, it's all done bonehead. 2blahs
Image

User avatar
Johnincal
Moderators
Moderators
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:53 am
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: About 3 hours a day
Location: Las Vegas, NV. USA

Re: TeMerc Installs Vista Ultimate!! [Again, w\SP1-Dec 15]

Postby Johnincal » Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:00 pm

I am proud of you! (bonehead?) :| rofl


Return to “Windows Vista”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest