Help needed

This forum is for all tips, information and news for Windows 2000, NT and Windows XP

Moderators: Admin Team, Moderators

User avatar
JeanInMontana
Posts: 2570
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:47 am
Gender: Female
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: More than 4 hours a day
Location: South Central Montana USA
Contact:

Help needed

Postby JeanInMontana » Thu Jul 07, 2005 9:49 pm

I tried Google for this problem and never found a "real" answer. Can anyone tell me how to disable caching and or shadowing in the BIOS? Actually I don't even know if they are enabled....but I keep getting BSOD's and every now and then the stop error says to make sure there is no caching/shadowing of the BIOS.

Seems that no two BSOD have the same stop message so I am really at a loss for trouble shooting this. Any help TIA. Oh and I do have lists of the stop errors if anyone can make sense of all those numbers.
Image Image

User avatar
poet
MSN Original
MSN Original
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 8:46 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Postby poet » Sun Jul 10, 2005 6:05 am

Jean
I'm not sure what you're asking, as I imagined someone of your experience would know how to get into BIOS settings, and that this isn't what you're really asking.
Just in case - to get into BIOS you need to follow your motherboard manufacturer's instructions - in most cases it's a matter of pressing the Delete key during the early stages of bootup. Once there, you are presented with a bewildering array of menus and options (depending on your motherboard and BIOS version) from which you can enable/disable shadowing and caching (and a whole lot of other esoteric functions.)
As I understand it (I'm far from expert in this area) shadowing copies the system ROM into RAM at bootup, giving easier/faster access to some functions - but others will be able to explain it much more lucidly than I can...
If I have missed the point of your question, and insulted your intelligence as a result, my apologies.

User avatar
JeanInMontana
Posts: 2570
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:47 am
Gender: Female
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: More than 4 hours a day
Location: South Central Montana USA
Contact:

Postby JeanInMontana » Sun Jul 10, 2005 8:39 am

:oops: Poet, actually I have never messed with my BIOS, I know once I saw all that but damned if I remember how I got there. I might be taking the lazy way out hoping there would just be someone here that knew what I had to do.

In the meantime I have been doing backups that I have neglected :roll: and thinking about a reformat. You gave me more info than all my Google searching brought about. Thanks.
Image Image

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3721
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 12:42 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Postby MysteryFCM » Sun Jul 10, 2005 9:07 am

How and where to enable/disable shadowing in your BIOS will depend on the BIOS you have (e.g. Phoenix). However, if you are using an NT based system, you do not need shadowing enabled as it is no longer required (NT uses VXD (Virtual Device Drivers) and uses the BIOS on boot only... it does not use it after booting). All you are doing when it is enabled on an NT system is wasting valuable RAM.

MS has a rather limited explanation at;

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=92766

Essential reading;

http://www.adriansrojakpot.com/Speed_De ... de_01e.htm
http://www.mycableshop.com/techarticles/shadowing.htm
http://www.biosman.com/faq.html
http://www.windowsitlibrary.com/Content/435/03/5.html
http://www.wimsbios.com/HTML1/advanced.html
http://www.rojakpot.com/freebog.aspx
http://www.techspot.com/tweaks/bios/print.shtml
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!

User avatar
JeanInMontana
Posts: 2570
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:47 am
Gender: Female
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: More than 4 hours a day
Location: South Central Montana USA
Contact:

Postby JeanInMontana » Sun Jul 10, 2005 9:35 am

Oh thanks very much Steven :!: I am using XP Home and I do think it is Phoenix....I ran Everest yesterday but didn't get through all the results before I crashed again...was searching for new video drivers (because that seems to show in the stop messages often) and then just started backing up stuff in case I have to reformat. :?
Last edited by JeanInMontana on Fri Jul 15, 2005 2:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image Image

User avatar
JeanInMontana
Posts: 2570
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:47 am
Gender: Female
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: More than 4 hours a day
Location: South Central Montana USA
Contact:

Postby JeanInMontana » Sun Jul 10, 2005 5:54 pm

((O Well I still don't know what to look for after reading those articles. '>*

BIOS Properties:
System BIOS Date 12/10/02
Video BIOS Date 09/20/02
Award BIOS Type Phoenix-Award BIOS v6.00PG
Award BIOS Message Version VLC407H
DMI BIOS Version 6.00 PG

Chipset Properties:
Motherboard Chipset VIA VT8375 ProSavageDDR KM266
Memory Timings 3-3-3-6 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
Command Rate (CR) 1T
I ran Everest and the above is what seemed maybe to be relevent. I looked in the BIOS and I can't find anything that remotely looks like caching or shadowing although Everest said in one area that caching was enabled. ?>!

Can you draw me a freekin picture. :!: d!
Image Image

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3721
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 12:42 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Postby MysteryFCM » Sun Jul 10, 2005 6:37 pm

Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!

User avatar
JeanInMontana
Posts: 2570
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:47 am
Gender: Female
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: More than 4 hours a day
Location: South Central Montana USA
Contact:

Postby JeanInMontana » Sun Jul 10, 2005 6:43 pm

OK at the risk of sounding totally ignorant I have to ask....and I know it seems obvious but with PC's that is not always the case. Anyway....is this a picture of caching enabled? Do I want the CPU L1 and 2 to be disabled?

Don't tell Johnincal but ~!+ ~!+ #$%
Image Image

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3721
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 12:42 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Postby MysteryFCM » Mon Jul 11, 2005 2:56 am

hehe yep, you want CPU caching and Video BIOS Shadowing disabled.

As an aside, can you post the actual STOP errors you were/are receiving?
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!

User avatar
JeanInMontana
Posts: 2570
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:47 am
Gender: Female
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: More than 4 hours a day
Location: South Central Montana USA
Contact:

Postby JeanInMontana » Mon Jul 11, 2005 9:28 am

Thanks Steven I feel so stoopit... :oops: I can post the errors I have written down none are the same down to the last number and they vary by type. So here goes the most recent in Page Fault

PageFault_in_Non Paged_area
Problem caused by following file Win32k.sys
Stop: 0x050(0xCE2B7890,0x0,0xBF836BE3,0x0)
Win32k.sys address BF836BE3 Base at BF800000, Date Stamp 422511a2
I think this one may have also told me to run a system diagnostic and memory check and to change video adaptors(??).

I ran Everest and it recommended more memory I can't afford that now, and found the verticle refresh rate of my monitor to be too low. I reset that, for some reason it constantly reverts to 60Hz from 85Hz. Then no crashes for the rest of the day but here are some more just prior.

These are the two most recent and did not specify Page fault or IRQL etc.

Stop: 0x050(0x8B047E70,0x0,0xF9D20C1C,0x0)
Ntfs.sys. address F9D00000 Date Stamp 41107eea

Stop: 0x07E(0xC05,0xF9D208C3,0xFA2DBC14,)xFA2DB910) Ntfs.sys. address F9D208C3 base at F9D00000 Date Stamp 41107eea

I have more written down some in the IRQL Not_Less_Or_Equal class/area....LOL that stuff is truely babble to me. But I have been able to grasp enough to know they are different areas/problems and mean different things.

However, I have no idea what they mean and find searching for the meaning is close to trying to attain Nirvana. Actually it may be the same for all I know. =+- Thanks for your help.
Last edited by JeanInMontana on Fri Jul 15, 2005 2:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image Image

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3721
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 12:42 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Postby MysteryFCM » Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:07 am

JeanInMontana wrote:PageFault_in_Non Paged_area
Problem caused by following file Win32k.sys
Stop: 0x050(0xCE2B7890,0x0,0xBF836BE3,0x0)
Win32k.sys address BF836BE3 Base at BF800000, Date Stamp 422511a2


http://support.microsoft.com/default.as ... 0121120120

JeanInMontana wrote:I ran Everest and it recommended more memory I can't afford that now, and found the verticle refresh rate of my monitor to be too low. I reset that, for some reason it constantly reverts to 60Hz from 85Hz. Then no crashes for the rest of the day but here are some more just prior.


If your monitor is reverting itself back to 60, it might be time to check both the monitor and graphics card (try re-installing and/or updating the drivers)

JeanInMontana wrote:Stop: 0x050(0x8B047E70,0x0,0xF9D20C1C,0x0)
Ntfs.sys. address F9D00000 Date Stamp 41107eea

Stop: 0x07E(0xC05,0xF9D208C3,0xFA2DBC14,)xFA2DB910) Ntfs.sys. address F9D208C3 base at F9D00000 Date Stamp 41107eea


Might want to look here for info on these (without the full error message, it's a little difficult to diagnose);

http://aumha.org/win5/kbestop.htm

In particular: http://aumha.org/win5/kbestop.php#0x24

JeanInMontana wrote:I have more written down some in the IRQL Not_Less_Or_Equal class/area....LOL that stuff is truely babble to me. But I have been able to grasp enough to know they are different areas/problems and mean different things.


See: http://aumha.org/win5/kbestop.php#0xd1

Hope this helps :)
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!

User avatar
JeanInMontana
Posts: 2570
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:47 am
Gender: Female
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: More than 4 hours a day
Location: South Central Montana USA
Contact:

Postby JeanInMontana » Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:43 pm

Might want to look here for info on these (without the full error message, it's a little difficult to diagnose);





There really wasn't an error message the usual jargon of your system has encounterd an error and is shutting down to protect.....blah blah blah...and that I should make sure there is no caching/shadowing to run a diagnostic and sometimes when it is an IRQL related error it says drivers of some sort could be the cause. Or newly installed hardware or software....all of which I haven't done.

I will investigate all of the links you have posted and go into the BIOS x*~ and make sure there is no caching/shadowing and see what happens. So far today I haven't crashed either....would the verticle refresh rate have this much affect??

STOP 0x1E in Win32k.sys Error May Occur in Windows 2000 or Windows XP Professional

I have Home version of XP...sorry should have said that. This is the sort of thing I have ran into find information but then it really doesn't match my system :cry:
Image Image

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3721
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 12:42 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Postby MysteryFCM » Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:56 pm

JeanInMontana wrote:either....would the verticle refresh rate have this much affect??


It wouldn't, no.......

JeanInMontana wrote:
JeanInMontana wrote:STOP 0x1E in Win32k.sys Error May Occur in Windows 2000 or Windows XP Professional

I have Home version of XP...sorry should have said that. This is the sort of thing I have ran into find information but then it really doesn't match my system :cry:


This doesn't necessarily mean the solution does not apply, just perhaps that it was not expected to occur on alternative versions of the OS for one reason or another (of course, do a system backup first).
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!

User avatar
JeanInMontana
Posts: 2570
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:47 am
Gender: Female
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: More than 4 hours a day
Location: South Central Montana USA
Contact:

Postby JeanInMontana » Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:59 pm

This doesn't necessarily mean the solution does not apply, just perhaps that it was not expected to occur on alternative versions of the OS for one reason or another (of course, do a system backup first).


OK....so I apply the HotFix with restore point. I uninstalled the last HotFix for the IE crashes and that seems to have helped the stablility of IE. A friend said it was causing probs with some systems.
Image Image

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3721
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 12:42 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Postby MysteryFCM » Mon Jul 11, 2005 1:02 pm

hehe MS HF's causing problems..... now there's a suprise Image
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!

User avatar
JeanInMontana
Posts: 2570
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:47 am
Gender: Female
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: More than 4 hours a day
Location: South Central Montana USA
Contact:

Postby JeanInMontana » Mon Jul 11, 2005 1:03 pm

:roll: Ya gotta love it when the fix breaks it.
Image Image

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3721
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 12:42 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Postby MysteryFCM » Mon Jul 11, 2005 1:05 pm

hehe, I often wonder whether MS are being serious or just haven't figured out that April fools day is only valid in April....lol
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!

User avatar
JeanInMontana
Posts: 2570
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:47 am
Gender: Female
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: More than 4 hours a day
Location: South Central Montana USA
Contact:

Postby JeanInMontana » Mon Jul 11, 2005 1:07 pm

LOL yes or there is some perverse pleasure in knowing someone like me is spending hours and hours trying to figure out stuff way over their head!
Image Image

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3721
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 12:42 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Postby MysteryFCM » Mon Jul 11, 2005 1:14 pm

hehe, that strangely, would not suprise me ....
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!

User avatar
JeanInMontana
Posts: 2570
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:47 am
Gender: Female
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: More than 4 hours a day
Location: South Central Montana USA
Contact:

Postby JeanInMontana » Mon Jul 11, 2005 2:08 pm

Well I have failed again. I can't find anything that looks like the picture. AND I can't get any =+\ HotFix w/o calling M$?? WTF :?:
Image Image

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3721
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 12:42 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Postby MysteryFCM » Mon Jul 11, 2005 2:43 pm

It's included in SP2 ;) (or try AutoPatcher)

With regards to the BIOS, download a copy of Aida32 (abandonware).... this will tell you the make, model and version of your BIOS :)

http://mysteryfcm.plus.com/software/?f= ... ics/Aida32

pe = Personal Edition
ee = Enterprise Edition
ne = Network Edition
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!

User avatar
JeanInMontana
Posts: 2570
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:47 am
Gender: Female
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: More than 4 hours a day
Location: South Central Montana USA
Contact:

Postby JeanInMontana » Mon Jul 11, 2005 2:50 pm

Oh well I have SP2 and my BIOS are
BIOS Properties:
System BIOS Date 12/10/02
Video BIOS Date 09/20/02
Award BIOS Type Phoenix-Award BIOS v6.00PG
Award BIOS Message Version VLC407H
DMI BIOS Version 6.00 PG

When I look at Advanced BIOS Properties it doesn't have anything about caching...it has the three boot options and I should have written down the rest but bottom line not the things I need to look at.
Image Image

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3721
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 12:42 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Postby MysteryFCM » Mon Jul 11, 2005 2:59 pm

Caching and Shadowing should be listed under "Advanced Chipset Features" ...
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!

User avatar
JeanInMontana
Posts: 2570
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:47 am
Gender: Female
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: More than 4 hours a day
Location: South Central Montana USA
Contact:

Postby JeanInMontana » Mon Jul 11, 2005 3:01 pm

I thought so too and I will reboot and look again but I saw nothing. :cry:
Image Image

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3721
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 12:42 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Postby MysteryFCM » Mon Jul 11, 2005 3:02 pm

lol I am seriously beginning to detest your computer..... :twisted:
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!

User avatar
JeanInMontana
Posts: 2570
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:47 am
Gender: Female
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: More than 4 hours a day
Location: South Central Montana USA
Contact:

Postby JeanInMontana » Mon Jul 11, 2005 3:27 pm

You are! I'm ready to cry real tears! and swear.

So here is what is in Advanced Chipset
DRAMclock/Drive Contol
Current FSB Frequency 133MHz

AGP & P2P Bridge Control
AGP Aperature Size [64M]...then if I enter that there are sizes from 4M up to 256M that I could choose.

VGA Share Memory Size [32M] and again if I enter the sizes to choose from are from Disabled, 8M, 16M, 32M. ?>!

Of course I didn't do anything because none of it means squat! to me. Thanks for everything and if you want to bail I understand.
Image Image

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3721
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 12:42 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Postby MysteryFCM » Mon Jul 11, 2005 3:41 pm

The VGA values are normal and are the "bits" available (will never go over 32 unless your running a 64bit CPU and have a BIOS that supports it).

With regards to the settings we're looking for, the only thing I can think of to suggest is using the Award BIOS editor (also saves re-starting the BIOS as the program can be run inside Windows) and seeing if you can see it in that.

http://awdbedit.sourceforge.net/

Tis quite a cool little program ;) (for obvious reasons, be very careful what you do with this though as one wrong move can render the PC unbootable)
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!

User avatar
JeanInMontana
Posts: 2570
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:47 am
Gender: Female
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: More than 4 hours a day
Location: South Central Montana USA
Contact:

Postby JeanInMontana » Mon Jul 11, 2005 3:50 pm

Tis quite a cool little program (for obvious reasons, be very careful what you do with this though as one wrong move can render the PC unbootable)


<<! I'm scared!! But I will run it and see what I see anyway.....most likely will be posting that back here. :roll:

Not for a while though I have a HJT log to do at WXPC.
Image Image

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3721
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 12:42 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Postby MysteryFCM » Mon Jul 11, 2005 3:55 pm

hehe, np.... take your time (I don't leave for work for another 5 hours or so).
Regards

Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!

User avatar
JeanInMontana
Posts: 2570
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:47 am
Gender: Female
experience: I know the functions, OS settings, registry tweaks and more
PC time: More than 4 hours a day
Location: South Central Montana USA
Contact:

Postby JeanInMontana » Mon Jul 11, 2005 4:00 pm

Arrggg what version do I want?
Both the source and binary releases are available
Image Image


Return to “Windows 2000, XP\NT”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests